Music !

Musique pouvant être utilisée en cycle 2 ou 3 (A1)


Bristol, England,UK

Weather temperature in Bristol, Bristol, United Kingdom
Weather Forecast

Marseille, France

Weather temperature in Marseille, Provence-Alpes-Cote D'azur, France
Weather Forecast



18 mai 2009 1 18 /05 /mai /2009 06:36
Education expert Sir Jim Rose, former director of inspection at Ofsted,  published on the 30th of April the final report of his Independent review of the primary curriculum and a series of recommendations to modernise it for 21st century pupils.

Sir Jim Rose wants to create a more flexible school timetable. He wants the children to learn more about well-being, happiness and healthy living.
There  will be 6 areas of learning instead of the 11 subjects primary schools must cover by law

  • ·  1. personal, social and emotional development
  • ·  2. language and literacy
  • ·  3. mathematical development
  • ·  4. knowledge and understanding of the world
  • ·  5. physical development
  • ·  6. creative development
The core of the curriculum will be literacy, numeracy, ICT and personal skills.
“From what I have seen on my visits, the best schools demonstrate that these priorities – literacy, numeracy, ICT and personal development – are crucial for giving children their entitlement to a broad and balanced education.

The content will be the same as it exists in the national curriculum.
My recommended areas of learning will not ‘abolish’ subjects, such as history or geography. The essential content of these subjects must be taught well in order for children to be able to make links between them, which is what having the six new areas of learning will allow teachers to do.”

The report also says that summer-born children should start primary school the September after their fourth birthday instead of waiting until January or April.

review began in Spring 2008 and had an interim report in December 2008.
The Curriculum reform consultation will run from May 2009 to July 2009.
The Secretary of state will sign off the new programmes in September 2009
Schools will begin to teach the new Primary Curriculum in September 2011.

The four main purposes of the National curriculum :

  • 1. To establish an entitlement of a number of areas of learning and to develop knowledge, understanding, skills and attitudes necessary for their self-fulfilment and development as active and responsible citizens.
  • 2. To establish standards for the performance of all pupils in the subjects it includes.
  • 3. To promote curriculum continuity and coherence, providing a foundation for lifelong learning.
  • 4. To promote public understanding and confidence. It provides a common basis for discussion of educational issues among lay and professional groups, including pupils, parents, teachers, governors and employers.

The national curriculum key stages

  1. Key stage 1: Ages 5-7 (years 1-2)
  2. key stage 2: Ages 7-11 (years 3-6)
  3. key stage 3: Ages 11-14 (years 7-9)
  4. key stage 4: Ages 14-16 (years 10-11)

Subjects studied today
·  Three core subjects: English, maths and science.

·  Nine foundation subjects - design and technology (DT), information and communication technology (ICT), history, geography, art and design, music, physical education (PE), modern foreign languages (Key Stage 3 only) and citizenship (Key Stages 3 and 4 only).

·  Religious education (RE)

Some reactions


Partager cet article

Repost 0
Published by iDeasandActions - dans CRPE (B2)
commenter cet article


LD 23/05/2009 18:50

sujet révisé mais merci pour la synthèse de l'utilité des programmes ^^

iDeasandActions 24/05/2009 09:23

Merci pour votre soutien et BRAVO pour votre admissibilité à l'écrit !
Et merci à vous pour votre blog sur la préparation du CERPE !!